new life goal

When I decided to cut dairy out of my diet, I figured I just wouldn’t eat pizza anymore.  The “how do you live without pizza?!?!?!?!?” question is something that vegans hear a lot, it seems.  Don’t get me wrong – I totally understand the appeal of a big, cheesy pizza.  But I also know that I feel like death after eating it, so giving it up wasn’t too much of a sacrifice.

Looking at this cheese is giving me stomach cramps.

But then I went out for pizza a few times.  And I realized the following:  Pizza without cheese?  Still completely delicious. 

Today I went out to eat at a new Italian restaurant uptown with some coworkers.  Rather than ordering a salad and resigning to the fact that I’d be hungry within the hour, I got a veggie pizza with no cheese.  And you know what?  It was freaking amazing.  The veggies were fresh and the sauce was delicious, but the crust…I could have eaten five of those crusts.

So I’ve decided that my new life goal is to learn how to make delicious, homemade pizza dough.  Chewy and soft and a bit crispy on the edges.  Yeast dough scares me – but hopefully some trial and error will do the trick.

It seems like this recipe from Oh She Glows is a good starting place.  I’m sure my boyfriend Mark Bittman also has a great recipe.  I know 100% white flour recipes will be more like what I tasted today, but I’d like to try my hand at something that’s at least partially whole-wheat so that I can pass it off as healthy. I’ll post any new developments here!

10 thoughts on “new life goal

  1. Pingback: sullivan street | Marian Writes

  2. Hello There. I found your weblog the use of msn. This is an extremely neatly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your helpful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  3. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?

    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results.

    If you know of any please share. Thanks!

  4. Those customers were genuinely rude and disrespectful, anyone would agree with you.
    We also have great discounts in place to ensure that you get
    more when you shop with us. They allow you to access these private networks for privacy and security online,
    whether it be for bypassing internet censorship in China,
    Vietnam, and Iran, or increasing the security of your connection on shared wifi.

I love it when you write to me.

