black-eyed pea eggplant burgers

I finally did it! I created a veggie burger recipe that doesn’t a) fall apart, b) taste like paper, or c) crumble between my fingers. When I received two pounds of dried black-eyed peas from my CSA this summer, I couldn’t wait to find fun ways to cook them up (just ask me how long it took me to shell those babies. I dare you). And once a few late summer eggplants made their way into my kitchen, my imagination started working on an earthy, fresh, and hearty veggie burger recipe. Thankfully it actually turned out! I must admit, I was pretty proud of myself for this one.

Sometimes I pout over veggie burger recipes because I don’t have a food processor (cut to a picture of me crying over my Vitamix… #whitegirlproblems), but honestly, you could probably even make this recipe in a regular old blender. A note – I added both ground oats and cooked brown rice to add some carbs and bind the patties. They’re delicious even without the brown rice, but it adds extra chew + complex carbs. And I love carbs. Try these – they’re seriously delicious, and healthy to boot.

Grilled Zucchini and Ketchup. All you need.

Black-Eyed Pea Eggplant Burgers
Makes 5-6 patties

1.5 C Cubed and roasted eggplant, using this method (about 2 small/medium eggplants)
1.5 C Cooked black eyed peas
1/4 C Ground oats*
1 Small onion, chopped
2 Cloves garlic, minced
1/2 Small jalapeño, seeded and minced
1/2 C Cooked brown rice (optional)
2 t Soy sauce*
2 t Dijon mustard
1 T Tahini
1 T Ketchup
1/4 C Sunflower seeds
1/4 C Chopped parsley
1 t Coriander
1/2 t Cumin
1/2 t Red Pepper Flakes
Smoked salt and black pepper, to taste

*Use tamari and GF oats to make this recipe gluten free

1. Preheat oven to 375 F
2. In a high-speed blender or food processor, pulse roasted eggplant and black-eyed peas until somewhat combined but still chunky (I pulsed them separately in my Vitamix and then combined later).
3. Empty mixture into a large bowl, and add all other ingredients, mixing with a wooden spoon until combined
4. Form into patties (should make about 6, unless you start eating the batter by the spoonful, in which case it will be more like 5) and place on a lined baking sheet (I use a Silpat and love it!)
5. Bake for 15 min on each side, or until slightly browned.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “black-eyed pea eggplant burgers

  1. A veggie burger that doesn’t fall apart..? Amazing. I’ve tried making black bean burgers in the past and usually get frustrated since they end up crumbling all over the soft bun and have to end up being eaten with a spoon..fail, ha.

    I love that these are eggplant based and contain brown rice..sounds hearty! I’m seriuosly about to try these out this weekend.

    PS You’re officially added to my blog roll! 🙂

    • aww, yay! let me know how they turn out if you try them. this was my first “made up” recipe so I tried to write everything down accurately! and once i actually GET myself a blogroll….you’ll definitely be on there 🙂

  2. These are meatless burgers that I’d actually eat…which says a lot! Let’s open a restaurant that offers vegan yummies on one side and big butter baked goods on the other 🙂

  3. Pingback: best of the best: veggie burger roundup

I love it when you write to me.

