It bears repeating

In the wake of Steve Jobs’ death, I wanted to share his Commencement speech from Stanford in 2005. I know the text and video from this speech have been circulating a lot in the past 24 hours, but it really spoke to me, and it can’t hurt to share again.

As someone trying to figure out what the hell to do with the rest of my life, I found the following excerpts particularly reassuring and motivating:

“Again, you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.”

“The only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle.”

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition.”

See the full text here – it will be the most worthwhile thing you read all day, I promise.

A friend I knew in high school passed away last weekend in a tragic accident. All of our friends were shocked, saddened, and so unsure of how to react, of what we were supposed to be feeling, of what we could do. But all I knew was that I wanted to call each one of my friends and tell them that I loved them. And it was clearer to me than ever that our time here is precious. My best friend’s father said it best: Tomorrow is not guaranteed to anybody.

So with that, make today great. Don’t let fear or expectations dictate your life. Remember those we’ve lost. And reach out to somebody you love.

Our friend’s parents asked that donations be made to the Country Roads Foundation in lieu of sending flowers. If you’re feeling generous today, check out the organization’s website, and feel free to give what you can.

I love it when you write to me.

