green energy.

Let me tell you a little story about my morning.

First, this happened:

(credit)

That was fun.

Then I drove home, looking forward to a morning of working from home, cooking myself a hot breakfast (this never happens) and getting a fully functioning washer/dryer installed (oh, the luxury!!). A text from my roommate, however, let me know that Sears cancelled on us. Which meant that there was no reason for me to work from home, and it was 8:30, and I needed to get my ass into the office. I also needed to feed myself some sort of food before eating the lunch I had packed last night.

…All of that, and I got into work at 9:20. This is how that happened:

Step 1: Throw a bunch of stuff in the vitamix. Blend. Throw lunch and some instant oatmeal** into my nerdy Target lunchbag. (5 minutes)

Step 2: Shower, dry hair, put on clothes, apply minimum amount of makeup required to look somewhat put together. (15 minutes — there is an upside to being embarrassingly low-maintenance).

Step 3: Run around house like a mad woman for dramatic effect, get in the car, stop at Starbucks (5 min!), hit a bunch of green lights, realize I have the exact number of quarters I need for parking, stroll power walk into the office (30 minutes).

Surprisingly, once I got to my desk, I felt great and had an unusually productive morning. I attribute it to a) yoga and b) the delicious smoothie I chugged before leaving the house. Yes, it had spinach in it. No, it did not taste like spinach. I bet you a 50-year-old washer/dryer unit that you’ll love it.

yes, i drink smoothies out of pint glasses. and i photograph them on the floor.

Green Smoothie in a Pinch:
measurements are approximations, as usual. Sorry I’m not sorry.
1/2 Banana, Frozen (I cut overripe bananas into chunks and store them in the freezer)
1/2 C Frozen mango
1/3 C Frozen organic spinach
1 C Almond Milk (homemade – recipe to come if I get my shit together)
2 tsp Honey
Dash Cinnamon
2 t Ground Flaxseed (optional; adds healthy Omega 3s! Suck it, salmon-eaters)

Throw everything into a blender and blend on high until, well, blended.

This would probably be delicious with a squeeze of lime added in. I got that idea from my sister, who is super cool and makes me things like green smoothies and raw chocolate puddings when I go visit her. She’s a genius. Smoothies are such a refreshing way to start your morning with a serious dose of fruits and veggies. They can even replace a meal if bulked up with grains (e.g. oats), fat and protein (nut butter, protein powder, soy milk, flax, etc).

It’s really easy to fall out of healthy routines when we’re in a rush or something unexpected comes up; that’s certainly the easiest time to rationalize stopping by Chick Fil A for a biscuit. Which is why it’s so important to stock your pantry and your desk with healthy on-the-go options like oatmeal, bars, fruit, and healthy snacks. Always be prepared, and you’ll always have healthy options.

**okay. I normally hate on instant oatmeal — it’s often loaded with sugar and it’s SO EASY (not to mention cheaper) to make your own instead. However, I won a Nature’s Path giveaway hosted by the lovely Anna, which included a package of organic (!) apple cinnamon instant oatmeal. I’m not gonna lie — it was DELICIOUS, creamy, and not too sweet. Perfect if you’re in a hurry.

One thought on “green energy.

  1. It sounds like you had a crazy slash productive slash pretty decent Tuesday! Your green smoothie sounds really tasty..you’ve got to love a quick meal in a glass! And hahahah ‘suck it salmon eaters’..you’re hilarious, ha!

    I’m so glad you liked the oatmeal! I never buy pre-made oatmeal either because it’s so sweet and expensive, too. However, my reaction to the apple cinnamon oatmeal was the same! It was super creamy and just sweet enough!

I love it when you write to me.

