Recent Favorite: Blackened Scrambled Tofu with Garlicky Grits

Ever since I started reading food blogs, I’ve wanted to share the recipes I try out in my kitchen. Now that I have a blog, though, it seems all I write about are random wistful thoughts and sugary baked goods. Neither of which are bad, of course, but I’d like to also show the world that I do, in fact, eat vegetables, and they can, in fact, be delicious. So maybe I’ll start sharing a recipe each week (let’s be honest, that’s pretty ambitious). I promise to only share the delicious ones.

A recipe that’s been bookmarked in my Google Reader for…weeks? months? is the Post Punk Kitchen’s Blackened Scrambled Tofu with Garlicky Grits. If you’ve never tried one of Isa Chandra’s recipes, well, I feel bad for you. Please go visit this site, and if you’re feeling motivated, make the Wheatberry Paella, the Creamy Red Chard Linguine, or the Chocolate Cake. Seriously, all of her recipes are amazing.

When I moved to the south for college, I fell in love with Shrimp and Grits. Crooks Corner, a Chapel Hill establishment, makes some of the best shrimp and grits you’ll ever taste – savory, satisfying, and bacon-y. But then, of course, I fell out of love with eating animals. And while I won’t try to convince you that this tastes just like shrimp and grits (it doesn’t), I will tell you that it’s delicious, comforting, warm, perfectly spiced, and certain to bring a smile to your face. And if you’re not a fan of tofu, this might just change your mind. It’s everything I love about a cold-weather meal, and after weeks of making boring stuff in my kitchen (well, except for these and these), it was the perfect return to recipe-following.

I was worried this wouldn’t come out because I crumbled my tofu into crumbly crumbles, rather than “bite-sized pieces”, and I used white balsamic vinegar instead of lemon juice. However, it was perfect. And it was a great way to use up the last baby tomatoes of the season! Also, I’m pretty much obsessed with any recipe that asks me to mince (and, subsequently, use) a whole head of garlic.

This recipe also reminded me how important mise en place (aka chopping all your shit before you start cooking) is. Seriously, it will decrease your anxiety levels by at least 300%. Cooking this was a pleasure; eating it even more so. And sorry for the lack of pictures — all you get is a crappy picture of leftovers at my desk! Luckily there are more drool-worth pictures here. I promise to do better next time, if you’ll promise to make this recipe. Deal? Deal.

I love it when you write to me.

