Recent Favorite: Semi-Homemade with Marian B.

I’m not just a food snob — I’m a cooking snob. I make my own almond milk; I soak and cook my beans; I turn my nose up at instant oatmeal. I love making things from scratch, and I adore the process of baking. So I’m a little embarrassed to admit how in love I am with this pumpkin bread I made from a box.

As I’ve said before, I’m trying to clean out my pantry over the next few weeks. This box has been in my possession for well over a year, so I figured it was time to do something with it. And since the ingredients were all vegan (hooray!), I just had to throw in two ingredients and cross my fingers.

What I did
The box called for water, oil, and an egg. I used canola oil and my go-to egg replacer:
1T ground flaxmeal + 3 T warm water + 5 minutes = congealed amazingness.
…The rest was quite easy:
Step 1: Cut open plastic bag and dump mix into bowl, trying not to get the powdery goodness all over your countertop, slippers, and laptop. Heaven forbid anything keep me from my Pandora showtunes station.
Step 2: Mix with a wooden spoon, mixing just until combined and trying not to consume 1/8 of the batter before it hits the oven.
Step 3: Grease your loaf pan with Earth Balance (vegan butter). I like to turn a ziplock baggie inside out, grab a pinch of buttery goodness, and smear it in the pan. This makes cleaning up quick and easy!
Step 4: (under-)Bake in 350 degree oven for 50-52 minutes. Let sit for 15 minutes. Swoon as your house smells like pumpkin and rainbows. Realize you only have to wash one bowl, a spoon, and a measuring cup. Smile.
Step 5: Share the love. Maybe bring half the loaf to the bar. Try not to knock over your coworker’s beer when you yell “it’s vegan!!!” accompanied by sweeping hand gestures.

Seriously, this is the most moist, delicious pumpkin bread I’ve ever had. It’s so good I’m actually glad I ignored my impulse to throw in a sprinkle of chocolate chips. And if you use an egg subsititute, you can sleep easy knowing you’re not contributing to the cruel abuse and confinement of chickens (yes, I went there). I’ve been enjoying it for breakfast every morning this week (topped with some PB for protein), and while it’s not as hearty or nutritious as my usual oatmeal, it’s a damn good way to start the morning. It’s November, and I’ll eat pumpkin until I turn orange.


(image via Sweet Tater)

7 thoughts on “Recent Favorite: Semi-Homemade with Marian B.

  1. What a great idea Marian! I’m such a sucker for anything with the Trader Joe’s label slapped on it..I may just break the bank this weekend while I’m shopping there. I will definitely pick this up though, now that you’ve recommended it, and try it out! I actually sort of like the idea of no chocolate chips..sometimes I just want pumpkin.

    • It’s so easy! Here’s what I do: 1. Soak a cup of raw, unsalted almonds in water overnight (tip: TJs has cheap raw almonds) 2. Optional: peel the almonds (this is easy after they are soaked and it improves the flavor significantly. It only takes maybe 5 min) 3. In a blender, combine your almonds, 4 C of water, and any sweeteners or flavors you’d like (I like a dash of vanilla extract and some maple syrup or pitted dates). Blend on high for at least a minute 4. I like to strain mine so it’s smoother and less calorie-dense. Best way to do this is cheesecloth or a nut milk bag, but i’m poor, so i use paper towels and a strainer. You’ll end up with a) delicious almond milk and b) nut pulp (hehehe) that you can add to smoothies or oatmeal (or directly to your mouth or the garbage disposal if you’re lazy)

      be warned, though, that since it’s so fresh it only keeps for a few (~4-5) days. I often just make 1/2 or 3/4 of a batch. But…it’s so delicious! Totally worth the extra work. let me know if you try it out!! xo

I love it when you write to me.

