DIY: Hold onto your nuts.

Have you ever roasted your own nuts? Do you like your nuts roasted? What is your favorite method of nut consumption?

Okay, I’ll stop. But I roasted up some nuts last night as a snack to bring to Conferenceroomageddon: Day 2, and it was so easy and delicious that I wanted to share. Normally I buy my nuts raw and unsalted from Trader Joes (they are so cheap!), so I already had everything I needed. The difference in flavor between what came out of my oven and what comes out of a bowl at your favorite dive bar was shocking (or not. And really, you have no idea where those nuts have been. They have no business in your mouth).

20111116-075749.jpg

Do you have raw nuts? Do you have salt?* Do you have a baking sheet?

Good. Then do this:

1. Preheat your oven to 300 degrees
2. Place your nuts on the baking sheet. I used cashews, almonds, and sunflower seeds.
3. Sprinkle them generously with sea salt
4. Place your nuts in the oven for 15-20 minutes, stirring a few times and making sure they don’t burn.

Let cool and store in an airtight container. If you’re feeling generous, you can share your nuts with others. But after roasting your own, you might want to consider celibacy.

*Don’t have salt? Go buy some! Who are you?!

2 thoughts on “DIY: Hold onto your nuts.

    • Thanks girl! They’re amazing. I think the key is not cooking too long (they won’t really get dark) so the flavor is more subtle. Let me know how they turn out! Xo

      Sent from my iPhone

I love it when you write to me.

