Holy Mole Popcorn

(pronounced holy mole-ay, por supuesto)

I sat in a conference room for twelve straight hours today. It was, let’s say, the opposite of fun. And while I thought I would be prepared by eating a hearty breakfast at home and bringing a nutritious granola bar to supplement the lunch that would be provided, it turned out that a) we had to stay for dinner as well and b) therefore all I ate between the hours of 9 AM and 9 PM was bread, salad, more bread, more salad…..and a granola bar. So my preparation was a bit lacking. You would think that this would inspire me to go home and cook a meal full of vegetables and protein. But instead…..I had beer and popcorn. And it was amazing.

But not just any popcorn. I recently realized that making popcorn at home is SO. FUN. It’s also terribly easy and cheap. I generally top it with melted Earth Balance and tons of Nutritional Yeast. But that wasn’t enough after the day I’d had. No, I needed dessert popcorn. Definitely some chocolate, a dash of spice, a hint of peanut butter, and something salty and crunchy to top it all off. This is, officially, my new favorite snack.

I have a confession, though. There’s one non-vegan thing over the past few months that I have (knowingly) fed myself. And that thing is peanut butter chips (sorry Dad, poor subject-verb agreement there). But whatever. They’re awesome. And this is what I did with them tonight:

Holy Mole Popcorn

2 C plain popcorn (from 1.5 T kernels – basic instructions here)
1 T Earth Balance Buttery Spread
1-2 T Chocolate Chips
1-2 T Peanut Butter Chips*
1/4 t cinnamon
dash cayenne pepper
roasted peanuts and crushed pretzels, for garnish

*you could probably make this a bit healthier (and vegan-er) by subbing 1T of peanut butter

1. Combine Earth Balance, Chocolate Chips, and Peanut Butter Chips (or peanut butter) in a microwave-safe bowl. Heat on high for 1 min, stirring once or twice.

2. Add spices and stir into chocolate mixture.

3. Pour chocolate mixture over your popcorn and top with roasted peanuts and pretzels (the pretzels are KEY). The mixture clearly combines best if you toss it with the popcorn, but I can’t be held responsible for how nasty this will make your hands look.

4. Enjoy with an ice cold beer, this book, and the satisfaction of not being in a freezing cold conference room.

4 thoughts on “Holy Mole Popcorn

I love it when you write to me.

