chipotle roasted corn and food formulas

Dear Marian five months ago,

Thank you for freezing fresh sweet corn from your CSA. And thank you for being a food hoarder. Because of these two things, I was able to remember what summer tastes like on a dreary december day.

Love,
Current Marian

So, I think I have planned things just right such that I will run out of food the second before I drive away from Charlotte. I have just enough to get me to the weekend.

One of the last veggies in my possession was a bag of corn, frozen from the steamy summer months when I’d make my weekly trip to my favorite farmer’s market to pick up my CSA share. I had planned on making this recipe for the longest time (it is one of my all time favorites; you should make it for brunch this weekend), but I have so many carbs to go through (quinoa, pasta, etc) that it seemed unnecessary. So I thought I’d go for something spicy, cumin-y, and simple. What I got was delicious, roasty, sweet corn with just a bit of char and a delicious marinade. This came together in less than 10 minutes, and made one of the best lunches I’ve had in a while.


tip: don’t use a warped baking sheet and your corn will actually cook evenly.

Chipotle Roasted Sweet Corn
Serves 1-2

Ingredients:
2/3 C sweet corn
1 t oil
1 t apple cider vinegar
1/2 t adobo sauce (found in “ethnic” aisle of your grocery store, often canned with chipotles)
1/2 t cumin
1/2 t chili powder
1/2 t paprika
Smoked Sea Salt (get thee to Trader Joe’s and buy some, stat)

Directions:
1. Preheat broiler to “high”
2. Mix corn with marinade and spread out on roasting pan (would probably be good to line said pan with foil or parchment paper; see my photos for evidence)
3. Broil for 4-5 minutes or until slightly charred, tossing once. Keep an eye on them to make sure they don’t burn.
4. Throw into your favorite grain dish or salad, and enjoy!

I ate this with steamed kale (tossed with a second batch of the marinade — yum), cooked quinoa, and black-eyed peas. A simple meal, but healthy and delicious. And cheap to boot.

A lot of people ask me what I “can” eat as a vegan. And I always try to emphasise that the possibilities are endless, just as long as they don’t involve meat, dairy, or eggs. But I certainly understand the dilemma of not knowing what to throw together for a simple meal. So I’ll fill you in on my favorite “food formula” to make a great vegan or vegetarian meal. Mark Bittman calls it “a grain, a bean, and a green”. All you have to do is grab the following:

A Grain: Quinoa (technically a seed, blah blah blah)), Rice, Cous Cous, Wheatberries, etc.
A Bean: Black beans, white beans, lentils, etc. My favorites are chickpeas. I could eat freshly cooked chickpeas all day.
A Green: Add as many colorful veggies as you want. Kale, Peppers, Broccoli, Carrots, Brussels Sprouts….knock yourself out.

Throw it all in a bowl, top it with your favorite sauce, dressing (maaaaybe stay away from ranch? just a suggestion), or spice/herb combo, and you’ve got a meal. I like to rely on this type of recipe when I’m feeling uninspired in the kitchen, or I need to throw something together in a hurry. Another similar “formula” I use for a healthy breakfast is: Grain (e.g. oats), Protein/Fat (e.g. nut butter), Fruit (e.g. banana). It’s an easy way to make sure I’m starting my day with a healthy meal.

For more info on how to stock a “Vegetarian Pantry” and what to make with it, check out Sweet Tater’s recent post on the topic. [Convenient timing, thanks Katie!] The possibilities for a delicious and healthy vegan meal are endless; all you need is the right goods and a little creativity.

Anyone else out there have a “food formula” that they rely on? Do tell…

4 thoughts on “chipotle roasted corn and food formulas

  1. marian,
    i love all of this! i love reading about your adventures! best wishes with your travels. i can’t wait to see photos!! i love how, even though we’re in very different “places” in life, your story still inspires me.
    happy trails!

  2. I’ve never even heard of roasted corn..kuddos to you for coming up with a great recipe! Love the picture too!

    I love love love throwing a bunch of veggies, quinoa, and beans in a bowl and calling it dinner. So simple, yum.

    PS Any favorite vegan desserts or holiday recipes you’d recommend? I want to try making something vegan and thought you’d be just the person to ask!

    • YES! some favorites are the following: Post Punk Kitchen’s chocolate cupcakes, Peas and Thank You’s peanut butter cookie dough balls. two of my favorite vegan blogs — tons of great desserts to choose from! oh she glows also has some great recipes too. let me know what you choose!!!

I love it when you write to me.

