unemployment oats

I love being at home. The holidays are here. The family time is plenty. I’ve got my parents’ pantry at my disposal and have been making good use of it. [Their garbage disposal at my disposal, too; it’s quite the luxury.]

I’ve been eating the exact same thing for breakfast every day this week. It’s been so nice to have time every morning to sit, enjoy a cup (or three) of coffee with my mom, and enjoy a delicious and special bowl of oats.

Here’s what’s inside:

Regular Overnight Oats, which contain:
1/3 C oats
1/2 C milk (plus maybe a little more water if it’s needed)
1 T flax meal
1/2 mashed banana
Vanilla extract, pinch of salt, a drop of maple syrup, and a sprinkle of cinnamon
topped with:
Natural PB (unsalted)
dried figs, chopped
candied ginger, chopped
shredded coconut – raw or toasted*

*Funny Story. I tried making raw macaroons in the oven and they were a complete failure. Catastrophic. But I scraped the salvageable, toasty, sweet coconut bits off of the pan and have been sprinkling them on my oats. I love kitchen failures that work to my advantage.

People say things like this all the time but this is THE MOST DELICIOUS BREAKFAST I’VE EVER EATEN and I can’t wait to eat it again tomorrow. The combination of the candied ginger (get the “healthier” kind with just ginger and raw sugar) and the peanut butter is ridiculous. Anything coconut, I love. The figs are sweet and chewy. It’s perfect.

And, of course, not eating breakfast at a cubicle is a serious luxury. The best part about being at home is simply the little, every-day moments I get to spend with my family. They’re rare and should be treasured. And they should be celebrated with fancy – but healthy! – breakfasts such as this. Especially while perusing the globe for upcoming travel destinations….

Merry Christmas Eve Eve, everyone!

2 thoughts on “unemployment oats

  1. Your bowl of oats looks so.incredibly.delicious. Who knew candied ginger and coconut could be delicious together..and on tops of creamy peanut butter oats? Delish!

    Have you ever tried adding a tablespoon of dark chocolate cocoa powder into your oats? It’s like eating chocolate cake batter for breakfast! Oh gosh, and throw some of your coconut macaroon crumbles in..even better!

    • oh my gosh YES! I used to treat myself for getting through the week by eating chocolate oats every friday morning. the PB + chocolate combination is insane. I hate saying stuff like this but it’s definitely one of those “you’d never know it’s healthy!!!” kind of things.

I love it when you write to me.

