angels

Thursday morning my movers came.

20111230-100205.jpg

I booked them through http://www.uship.com, which is the best website ever if you want things moved without paying thousands of dollars. They were scheduled to drop my furniture off this week, and arrived at 7:30 AM on the dot. It was a freezing morning but a beautiful one, around 20* and sunny. The two movers, Alfredo and Enrique (not Iglesias), got to work quickly, lifting things effortlessly, working together like a well-oiled machine.

I have a good friend (and ex-roommate) named Abby who is very good at making friends. The day that her movers came to take all of her worldly possessions from our little house, I came home to find that she had ordered them pizzas, learned all about their families, and generally become their new favorite person and fallen within their best graces. Not shocking, of course, but still the kind of thing that you see and then remember that the kindness of strangers still exists.

With that memory warming my heart and the morning temperatures turning my fingertips to ice, I brought some coffee to my new friends Alfredo and Enrique. I got over my fear of strangers (shocking, I know) and struck up conversation. I am often quiet or awkward around people I don’t know well yet, and afraid to impose. I would normally stay inside, watching them from the comfort of my kitchen, wanting to be friendly but unsure of how to do so. Instead, I found myself exchanging pleasantries before quickly delving into why I was moving back home, where I was going, why I was quitting my job and getting on a plane to India.

Well, lesson learned. Never underestimate people whom you pay to do the heavy lifting. Turns out Enrique wanted no sugar in his coffee, please, because he keeps some Agave up front. And he knows everything that is wrong with our food system, and cares about the environment, and did you know that food companies put fish DNA in tomatoes to make them shiny? And Alfredo started a home school program in his community to improve the quality of education in the area and provide community members employment opportunities to get them away from a life of crime if they so chose (the moving business supports the schooling business). And Enrique knows some serious shit about yogic philosophy, the energy systems of the body, and the value of studying with great spiritual teachers. I sent them off with some vegan, gluten-free cookies and a copy of a book on the chakra system for Enrique. My heart was bubbling up with joy and friendliness and appreciation. How nice to make such unexpected friends.

So here’s my point: be nice to your movers. Tip your waitresses. Make eye contact with those people who make your lives easier. Give a hot drink to someone who is cold. Strike up conversation with a stranger. Never underestimate the human race.

After the truck moved away, I was convinced that Alfredo and Enrique were angels. This may sound silly, but it’s true. Don’t ask me why, because I don’t know. But I am convinced that they were angels. People who unexpectedly appear in our lives, keep us on our toes, make us smile, fill us with joy, force us to throw away misconceptions, and give us small yet powerful gifts like joy and hope and relief and safety. And just as easily as they appeared, they leave. They generally don’t look like the cherubim we’re familiar with from fresco and children’s books. And they might come and go in large, yellow Penske trucks. Why wouldn’t they?

I love it when you write to me.

