Facts.

Over the past 24 hours, I have:

Gone spelunking. Nobody told me that caves were so damn beautiful. And now I know the difference between stalagmites and stalactites.

20120406-211305.jpg

Driven my little self over 200 kilometers on a bike through the most beautiful scenery I’ve ever scene seen. Yes I wore a helmet. Yes it was the best thing I’ve ever done.

20120406-211532.jpg

Spent a night with a village of long necks, a Burmese tribe (now refugees) whose women wear long golden coils around their necks, if they so choose. Please google it. I have never felt so welcomed by strangers, or slept in such a remote village, or been so struck by the beauty of cultural tradition.

Cried once because I was on a bumpy road that I did not like. Cried once because I was struck by the occurrence and the meaning of Good Friday. Cried zero times after my camera decided to experience a lens error and cease to function forever (shit happens).

Drunk sweet, milky, instant iced coffee from a can. Have I mentioned I love Thailand? Don’t knock it til you’ve tried it.
20120406-212523.jpg

Come back to my home away from home in Pai and watched a gorgeous sunset from what is either a tree house or a bamboo hut. Either way, it’s paradise.

20120406-212100.jpg

More to come soon (I promise!)

4 thoughts on “Facts.

  1. I loved Thailand. it was one of my favorite places to visit – so jealous. Can’t wait to see all the photos and hear your stories – because I know this blog is only capturing some of them! miss you girl!

  2. For some reason, this post is my favorite of all of yours, Marian. I just LOVE it. It is funny and the cave and sunset and espresso in a can photos are ta’ die fan’!

    Riding the bike must be a total gas!! I am sorry about your camera lens, but shit DOES HAPPEN, as you so wisely stated.

    xoxAuntie

I love it when you write to me.

