right now.

I just got off a boat that took me away from the most beautiful, happy place I’ve ever been. I’ll be getting on a bus soon, then a plane, then another plane. then I get on public transportation in Rome (this part scares me the most) and then I see my parents.

I’ve been so sad all morning. leaving our little home and our friends was so hard. I felt like someone had died. I’m sitting here looking out over the ocean and I don’t want to leave it. I’m scared of Europe. I’m afraid that I’ll lose those precious personal things that I’ve gained over the past four months.

I say goodbye to Mariel tonight, or rather tomorrow morning. In the Kuwait airport. I dont know how I’m going to do this. She’s been my ally and my best friend and challenged me and served as my boyfriend, mother, medic, and confidante. I don’t know how to travel without her.

But I get to see my parents. My mom and dad. Katie and Webster. I don’t know how I’m going to get through the next 40 hours, but part of me knows that once I’m in their arms everything will be at least marginally better.

This trip has been a blessing so far. The past week was a blessing and a half. I feel happy and I want to hold on to it. I want to smile at people on the street and be fearless and walk around barefoot.

I have to leave this place, but there are so many things that I can take with me.

And now my bus is here and my rant is over. Let’s do this thing.

One thought on “right now.

  1. So by now, I think you are with your Mom and Dad. It must be a shock to be in Europe…and a city at that. Perhaps the “walk” with your DAD will be a bit more your cup of tea. I admire you more than I can say, Marian. Congratulations on living one of your dreams….and LOVING it!
    And: It ain’t over til it’s over (You and Mariel can’t “go back” to the moments you experienced, but you can visit your beloved India and sister countries again.!) Much Love and Biiiiiiiiiggg Hug, Auntie N.

I love it when you write to me.

